Shipping and Commercial

Shipping and Commercial

  Shipping and Commercial Teignmouth has been an active trading port for more than...



  Visitor Pontoon and Moorings     The Jubilee and Trafalgar Pontoons are moored in a...

Navigation and Safety

Navigation and Safety

Navigation Section - Safety Guidance   The Teign estuary is used extensively by a wide range...



  Moorings Teignmouth Harbour Commission (THC) manages and maintains over 100 moorings...

  • Shipping and Commercial

    Shipping and Commercial

  • Facilities


  • Navigation and Safety

    Navigation and Safety

  • Moorings



THC Harbour Office 


Our postal address is:-

Harbour Office

Teignmouth Harbour Commission

2nd Floor, ABP Port Office 

Old Quay Road 


Devon, TQ14 8ES 



There is no parking at the Harbour Office and all parking adjacent to the Office is for ABP personnel.  The nearest parking will be at Polly Steps or Quay Road Car Park. Parking enforcement operates in the vicinity of the ABP Port Building and you will be fined if you park without a permit.  No permits will be made available to visitors to the Harbour Office.

Harbour Master and Chief Executive Officer:

Commander David Vaughan


Deputy Harbour Master:

Humphrey Vince


Senior Harbour Administrator:

Jayne Orchard



Harbour Assistant:

Fred Pearce



Receptionist and Harbour Administrator:

Jess Andrew 


Harbour Assistant:

Marcus Walton


Financial  Administrator (Accounts):

Judith Burridge



Harbour Assistant:

George Davies

Teignmouth Pilots


Pilotage and Marine Services (Teignmouth) Limited



Mark Fleming


Kevin Clifton 

Pilot Boat Coxswain:

Adam Truhol 




Harbour Commissioners and Senior Officers

The Teignmouth Harbour Revision Order is an Act of Parliament empowering the Commission to discharge its duties and responsibilities and defines the range of skills and experience required in appointing its Commissioners.

The relevant extract from the order reads:

"...each Commissioner appointed (nine members appointed by the Commissioners) shall be a person who appears to the Commissioners to have special knowledge, experience or ability appropriate to the efficient, effective and economic discharge by the Commissioners of their functions including in particular (but without prejudice to the generality of the foregoing) special knowledge, experience or ability in one or more of the following matters:

  • The ports industry;

  • Maritime and commercial activities;

  • Local public service;

  • Boating, tourism and other leisure activities;

  • Environmental matters;

  • Finance, legal and administration;

  • Any other skills and matters considered relevant from time to time by the Commissioners in order for them to discharge their functions. "

The following is a list of the current Commissioners with a brief summary of their background. All are unpaid appointments. Commissioners are appointed for a three year term and can serve a total of three terms apart from the chairman who can serve four.

Graham Bond - LLB - Chairman - 20 years as Clerk to the Commission. Career in the legal profession and former Chairman of Tozers. Specialising in marine law and legislation related to the management of harbours.

Sue Astbury Vice Chair -  Currently serving as an Anglican Priest in Teignmouth. 20 years in engineering and management in defence industry, latterly as Managing Director and UK Vice President of a global Inertial Products Business. Sailed, rowed and fished on the Teign Estuary for nearly 50 years. 

Tim Cox - Runs a successful and growing watersport business in Teignmouth.  He is the Centre Principal of Sea Sports South West, an RYA and BCU recognised seasport training and recreation center with an AALA license.  He has a long history working in the watersports industry and has a number of qualifications including: Windsurfing Advanced Plus instructor & Intermediate Trainer, Senior Sailing instructor, Advanced Dinghy Instructor, Multihull & Keel Boat instructor and Coach Assessor, Advanced Powerboat Instructor and Powerboat Trainer, Personal Watercraft Instructor and 1st Aid Instructor.

Vic Weston - Recently retired after 37 years teaching Design & Technology. Lived in Teignmouth since 1968, an active member of Teign Corinthian Yacht Club since 1970 and has enjoyed sailing and boating on the river Teign for over 50 years. RYA Yacht Master Offshore, Sailing Dinghy Instructor and Power Boat Certified.

Jude Chilvers - Teignmouth Fisherman, Ex ABP Teignmouth employee, Member of Teignmouth RNLI for 16 years including crew and helm and a former member of the River Teign Rowing Club.  Teignmouth is her home and she cares deeply about the town, the harbour and the estuary

Dan HallettDan grew up near Newton Abbot before going to university and joining the Royal Navy.  He served across the UK and around the globe at sea and ashore. Most recently he served as the UK’s Naval Attaché to Ukraine from 2014-2019.  Now pursuing a civilian career, Dan joined Teignmouth Harbour Commission to support the environmental sustainability and economic development of the estuary. Dan lives in Shaldon with his wife and two sons and enjoys getting out on the water on his SUP.

Joanne SparksJoanne Sparks, grew up in Teignmouth with close links to the fishing community. On leaving school she went to Southampton University and gained a degree in Geology and Oceanography BSc. Joanne has recently moved back to the area with her family and has now joined the Harbour Commission. Her main focus is to help secure a sustainable future for the harbour particularly from an environmental perspective.

Mark TipperMark co-owns three local award winning companies which deliver holistic financial planning, ethical investing, long term care planning, auto enrolment and trust work. Mark served as Chair of Governors for Teign school and Chair of a local community plan.  He lives in Teignmouth with his family and is passionate about sustainable environments which stems from his degree in Landscape Architecture and time as head gardener at The West Midlands Safari Park.  Mark also holds a power boat license which has allowed him to help with the safety boat for River Teign Rowing club.

Derek Davis - Retired Police Diving Supervisor and Marine Unit Coxwain, currently a member of the Unit Management team Teign Valley Sea Cadets and Deputy Launching Authority at Teignmouth RNLI.


Commissioners hold office for periods of 3 years and there are therefore regular retirements.  Should you wish to become a Commissioner please contact the Harbour Office for an application and an expression of interest for when the next round of Commissioner recruiting takes place.


Harbour Master and Chief Executive Officer.

Commander David Vaughan - OBE BA FRIN MNI Royal Navy - 35 years in RN; Submarine Commander; Master Mariner; Queen's Harbour Master; Offshore Yachtmaster (Power and Sail); Past President UKHMA; Past Chairman SWRPA and Chairman Teign Estuary Partnership.


If you wish to know more about the Commission and its operations these are set out in the Operating Manual which can be viewed at the Harbour Office.

Teignmouth Harbour Commission
2nd Floor, ABP Port Office
Old Quay Road
TQ14 8ES

Phone: +44 (0)1626 773165
Emergency: +44 (0)7796 178456

VHF Channel 12 (Office Hours)

Cookies make it easier for us to provide you with our services. With the usage of our services you permit us to use cookies.
More information Ok Decline